Cistran Finance Exploring the Spirit of Capitalism's New Frontier

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

Antonio Tajani wins European Parliament presidency

Antonio Tajani has been named president of the European Parliament following a final face-off with Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT).

After three rounds of voting, none of the six candidates won an absolute majority of the votes. After a fourth round, Tajani led with 351 votes. Pittella had 282 votes.

In every voting session, Tajani maintained the lead position with Pittella in second place.

Every candidate gave a three-minute speech detailing how he or she intended to lead Parliament during their 2.5-year term. One candidate, Guy Verhofstadt, withdrew from the race before voting began.

Organizations in this Story

European Parliament

Want to get notified whenever we write about European Parliament ?
Next time we write about European Parliament, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.