Cistran Finance Exploring the Spirit of Capitalism's New Frontier

Friday, January 18, 2019

BTA Bank JSC makes changes in composition of board of directors

BTA Bank JSC has changed the membership of its board of directors after an extraordinary meeting of shareholders held on Feb. 14.

In the meeting, it was decided to terminate the powers of Yelena Bakhmutova and Mira Koshkimbayeva and to elect Kenes Rakishev and Nina Zhussupova to the board in their place.

Kenes Rakishev was elected as chairman of the board of directors during the Feb. 14 meeting as well.

Other changes to the board of directors also took place on Feb. 6. This involved the sale of shares in the bank to Samruk-Kazyna SWF JSC, a major shareholder in the bank.

Samruk-Kazyna SWF JSC is a consortium of investors represented by Kazkommertsbank JSC along with Kenes Rakishev, a Kazakhstan businessman.

The shifts in the membership of the board of directors of BTA Bank is intended in to maintain continuity and in order to shift focus on enhancing the efficiency and optimization of the bank.